top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJax

Headcanons and Foundations

Updated: Mar 31, 2019

As I've gotten older, there's a lot about the ATLA world that frustrates me. There are tons of plotholes and the timeline is seriously wonky. So I wanted to address some of the biggest changes that I've made based on some personal headcanons I have about the series.


Bending:

First off, lavabending is a subcategory of firebending. There were more canon references made in ATLA that defined lavabending as such. (In the episode that depicts previous Avatars tapping into the Avatar State to enhance their bending, they're using their base element; the Water Tribe Avatar makes a big wave, the Air Nomad makes a huge gale, and Roku friggin BENDS LAVA.) So, Earthbenders cannot lavalbend, sorry Bolin.


Further, spiritbending is a subcategory of waterbending. I haven't really decided what that will mean, but it explains how Katara can feel for bending ability in the womb.


Families:

This so far isn't a thing that comes up, but it's how I'm writing it.


Sozin has a daughter at a more reasonable age (44 instead of the canon 82 when Azulon was born.) His daughter is disowned after eloping with a commoner but her son, Azulon, is forcibly adopted by Sozin when he doesn't have another heir.


Azulon also has issues with his issue (lol). He has Iroh with his first wife, then takes a second wife/concubine to have Ozai. Thus the reason for why Ozai is so friggin salty to start with.


Ursa's parentage is also altered to deal with some Methuselah level aging. People still live a lot longer but don't have babies in their seventies.


This is a disorder wherein I cannot create a mental image. I have never had a mind's eye and it's impossible for me to imagine how something or someone looks. If you ever read something and go "It doesn't look like that!" I apologize. I'm mentally blind and also forgetful. So, my North Pole and Spirit World don't resemble the show and I'm sure I screwed up a few other details. Let me know if there are any glaring mistakes (as in I messed up canon places) and I'll try to edit those places.



53 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page